Can Main Characters Be Flawed?

Having time off from work because of Sandy, I’ve had time to ponder on the response of readers to MISSING. And what have I learned?

Authors can not please everyone.

Simple concept, I know. I write complex characters that are full of flaws from their past. Lessons they must learn and demons they sometimes face. I love to read books with characters that must forge through the storm to come out on the other side. I love to cheer for the protagonist that must overcome adversity to reach their goal. And these are the men who’s stories I tell.

But I understand when people long for a perfect prince when reading a romance. Some readers want to get carried away and not deal with real life. They want that knight on the horse that will change everything.

I can enjoy those stories, but I sometimes find they turn into the same ‘ol same ‘ol. So I layer my men to wrestle with things such as addiction or loss. And take readers on the journey with them as they attempt to work through issues.

So that’s why I get that the same book can get rave reviews from one reader and low stars from another. Two different readers viewing the same story are bringing their own reading desires with them…and I don’t always deliver what they want.

So does this change my next story? No. It was already written. Hopefully to be published in 2013. A different feel – a romance for those wanting love – but my protagonist is still not perfect.

In my world: no one is.

2 thoughts on “Can Main Characters Be Flawed?

  1. Hey

    Drake

    I haven’t read MISSING yet, t but even not having read it, I get what you’re saying. I got similar reaction to What Binds Us. Again, a romance that also deals with flawed characters and hard issues like illness and death. Like you I think the perfect Prince is a nice idea but common and I don’t really believe in him (perhaps because I haven’t ever met a Prince who was perfect). And I find the stories of those who are less than perfect but still find love and a life worth sharing far more interesting. And like yours my second book is full of characters who are less than perfect because I think they have stories worth telling but which aren’t often heard. And there wil be readers who will read those stories.

    Hang in there; keep writing what you write and maybe together you and I can broaden the definition of romance.

Leave a Reply

