Starting Another Project As One Wraps Up

BookEditingThe end of this month finds me busier than I’ve been in a long time. The final proof copy of DESTINY ON THE TRACKS arrived from Dreamspinner Press for me to read. Knowing the book will be out in early June means the nerves start of what people will think of it. Do they expect a certain thing from me based on MISSING? Will they accept my inner romantic coming out with this time-travel novel that pays homage to certain books and movies that I’ve loved? Only time will tell.

I’ve also been busy at work on my next project (VACATION FROM HELL) and started the scary process of sharing it with my editor at Seventh Window. Knowing I want this new work to be a series, I’m aware the first needs to be ‘just right’ and we have a long way to go. I tweeted that sending early drafts of a manuscript to an editor is like standing naked in front of a lover with the lights on where they can see all your flaws.  That’s definitely how I feel. And yet, like a lover – you trust this person in what they are telling you about those flaws: because they want your work to be as good as possible.

So it seems I’ll be dividing my time between promoting DESTINY and rewriting and rewriting VACATION. The tone is very different in both and as a writer; we need to be able to shift gears to capture it correctly in what we are working on. I noticed that the sweet romance of DESTINY was creeping into VACATION and thank God my editor smacked my hands on that one. Not the story I wish to tell.

So – here we go! Onward to the next chapter in my writing life.

Leave a Reply

